e1000: Discard packets that are too long if !SBP and !LPE
authorMichael Contreras <michael@inetric.com>
Mon, 3 Dec 2012 04:11:22 +0000 (20:11 -0800)
committerAnthony Liguori <aliguori@us.ibm.com>
Mon, 3 Dec 2012 14:14:10 +0000 (08:14 -0600)
The e1000_receive function for the e1000 needs to discard packets longer than
1522 bytes if the SBP and LPE flags are disabled. The linux driver assumes
this behavior and allocates memory based on this assumption.

Signed-off-by: Michael Contreras <michael@inetric.com>
Signed-off-by: Anthony Liguori <aliguori@us.ibm.com>

hw/e1000.c

index cb7e7e8..5537ad2 100644 (file)
@@ -59,6 +59,9 @@ static int debugflags = DBGBIT(TXERR) | DBGBIT(GENERAL);
 #define PNPMMIO_SIZE      0x20000
 #define MIN_BUF_SIZE      60 /* Min. octets in an ethernet frame sans FCS */
 
+/* this is the size past which hardware will drop packets when setting LPE=0 */
+#define MAXIMUM_ETHERNET_VLAN_SIZE 1522
+
 /*
  * HW models:
  *  E1000_DEV_ID_82540EM works with Windows and Linux
@@ -805,6 +808,13 @@ e1000_receive(NetClientState *nc, const uint8_t *buf, size_t size)
         size = sizeof(min_buf);
     }
 
+    /* Discard oversized packets if !LPE and !SBP. */
+    if (size > MAXIMUM_ETHERNET_VLAN_SIZE
+        && !(s->mac_reg[RCTL] & E1000_RCTL_LPE)
+        && !(s->mac_reg[RCTL] & E1000_RCTL_SBP)) {
+        return size;
+    }
+
     if (!receive_filter(s, buf, size))
         return size;