[pcnet32] Eliminate redundant register read
authorMichael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
Thu, 23 Mar 2017 15:35:10 +0000 (17:35 +0200)
committerMichael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
Thu, 23 Mar 2017 15:43:13 +0000 (17:43 +0200)
commit19d3e966d9ee535fc89e8fa26737cc133882ae1c
treeefc66e0d9fc2cb1d10f888e952224d770bf0d747
parent1ff1eebcf7a93a237a1b91ea5d9dcc5b5f1a13bf
[pcnet32] Eliminate redundant register read

The value of ( ( x & 0x0c00 ) | 0x0c00 ) is always 0x0c00 regardless
of the value of x, and so the read_csr() is redundant.  (There are no
read side effects for this register, according to the datasheet.)

This line of code originated in Linux kernel 2.3.19pre1 as

  a->write_csr(ioaddr, 80, a->read_csr(ioaddr, 80) | 0x0c00);

and was modified in kernel 2.3.41pre4 to read

  a->write_csr(ioaddr, 80, (a->read_csr(ioaddr, 80) & 0x0C00) | 0x0c00);

In the absence of commit messages, the intention of the code is
unclear.  However, the logic resulting in a fixed value of 0x0c00 has
remained unaltered for over 17 years, and can probably be assumed to
have the correct overall result.

Signed-off-by: Michael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
src/drivers/net/pcnet32.c