[intel] Do not enable ASDE on i350 backplane NIC
authorMichael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
Sun, 16 Apr 2017 20:26:13 +0000 (21:26 +0100)
committerMichael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
Sun, 16 Apr 2017 20:37:41 +0000 (21:37 +0100)
commit2d79b20f2a3eba199012de3bd11f8aef0a5b9dbf
tree322b89450dbb6ae37acc42f595c27bcc90508e3d
parente6616da8b8647fe928b633e39c9e2e656aed5249
[intel] Do not enable ASDE on i350 backplane NIC

On most Intel NICs, Auto-Speed Detection Enable (ASDE) can be used to
automatically detect the correct link speed by sampling the link using
the internal PHY.  This feature is automatically inhibited when not
appropriate for the physical link (e.g. when using internal SerDes
mode on the 8254x).

On the i350 datasheet ASDE is a reserved bit, but the relevant
auto-speed detection hardware appears still to be present.  However,
enabling ASDE on the i350 1000BASE-KX backplane NIC seems to cause an
immediate link failure.  It is possible that the auto-speed detection
hardware is still present, is not connected to a physical link, and is
not inhibited from being applied in this mode.

Work around this problem by adding an INTEL_NO_ASDE flag bit
(analogous to INTEL_NO_PHY_RST), and applying this for the i350
backplane NIC.

Signed-off-by: Michael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
src/drivers/net/intel.c
src/drivers/net/intel.h