[build] Remove dependency on libiberty
authorMichael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
Mon, 14 Sep 2015 21:49:34 +0000 (22:49 +0100)
committerMichael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
Mon, 14 Sep 2015 21:55:40 +0000 (22:55 +0100)
commit40a9a0f097d87252f2b4f3cd884c9261b1d3d1e8
treed4c1c094fdf2205b785f508c753ad4b221008b12
parent79443785cd2ff6f458dddb6536db4cab8275b875
[build] Remove dependency on libiberty

Commit 7d36a1b ("[build] Explicitly link efilink against -liberty")
introduced a dependency on libiberty to cope with old versions of
libbfd.  This commit dates from 2008 and seems to apply only to what
are now extremely old versions of libbfd (prior to binutils 2.12).

There are systems (such as current Debian) which do not include
libiberty within the binutils packages.  On such systems, our build
dependency on libiberty represents a pointless hurdle.

Remove the explicit dependency on libiberty, hoping that there are no
modern systems where this will cause a problem.

Suggested-by: Ben Hildred <42656e@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Michael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
src/Makefile.housekeeping