[usb] Always clear recorded disconnections after performing hotplug actions
authorMichael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
Wed, 13 May 2015 13:45:21 +0000 (14:45 +0100)
committerMichael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
Wed, 13 May 2015 14:01:07 +0000 (15:01 +0100)
commit5ecd16af04b29555a25074300ec9a0b995dfe407
tree335ea24433db238288716a444985c444d8b245b9
parenta2173fca45983094cfde38359132cccec51b084c
[usb] Always clear recorded disconnections after performing hotplug actions

The recorded disconnections (in port->disconnected) will currently be
left uncleared if usb_attached() returns an error (e.g. because there
are no drivers for a particular USB device).  This is incorrect
behaviour: the disconnection has been handled and the record should be
cleared until the next physical disconnection is detected (via the CSC
bit).

The problem is masked for EHCI, UHCI, and USB hubs, since these will
report a changed port (via usb_port_changed()) only when the
underlying hardware reports a change.  xHCI will call
usb_port_changed() in response to any port status event, at which
point the stale value of port->disconnected will be erroneously acted
upon.  This can lead to an endless loop of repeatedly enumerating the
same device when a driverless device is attached to an xHCI root hub
port.

Fix by unconditionally clearing port->disconnected in usb_hotplugged().

Reported-by: Robin Smidsrød <robin@smidsrod.no>
Tested-by: Robin Smidsrød <robin@smidsrod.no>
Signed-off-by: Michael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
src/drivers/bus/usb.c