[rng] Check for functioning RTC interrupt
authorMichael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
Sun, 10 Jul 2016 19:36:53 +0000 (20:36 +0100)
committerMichael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
Sun, 10 Jul 2016 19:42:53 +0000 (20:42 +0100)
commit74222cd2c19e71a9474529813075dfacbaa75b34
tree77a5c8ea1b000612b84b6ff1bf6fc9b6927734c1
parentd6817943d187c18869a4d69e2499caf453162bca
[rng] Check for functioning RTC interrupt

On some platforms (observed in a small subset of Microsoft Azure
(Hyper-V) virtual machines), the RTC appears to be incapable of
generating an interrupt via the legacy PIC.  The RTC status registers
show that a periodic interrupt has been asserted, but the PIC IRR
shows that IRQ8 remains inactive.

On such systems, iPXE will currently freeze during the "iPXE
initialising devices..." message.

Work around this problem by checking that RTC interrupts are being
raised before returning from rtc_entropy_enable().  If no interrupt is
seen within 100ms, then we assume that the RTC interrupt mechanism is
broken.  In these circumstances, iPXE will continue to initialise but
any subsequent attempt to generate entropy will fail.  In particular,
HTTPS connections will fail with an error indicating that no entropy
is available.

Signed-off-by: Michael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
src/arch/x86/include/bits/errfile.h
src/arch/x86/interface/pcbios/rtc_entropy.c