[vram] Add "vram" built-in setting to dump video RAM
authorMichael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
Fri, 24 Apr 2015 15:05:59 +0000 (16:05 +0100)
committerMichael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
Fri, 24 Apr 2015 15:27:47 +0000 (16:27 +0100)
commita25a16d4adf663abd8f6eaab266b9444157357b6
tree9e001b537fb3f79e924d455bc55a894405531c4e
parentdc15a5a77942abf2c39f2de4ee5a2b7150ea89e1
[vram] Add "vram" built-in setting to dump video RAM

The "vram" setting returns the (Base64-encoded) contents of video RAM,
and can be used to capture a screenshot.  For example: after running
memtest.0 and encountering an error, the output can be captured and
sent to a remote server for later diagnosis:

  #!ipxe
  chain -a http://server/memtest.0 && goto ok || goto bad
  :bad
  params
  param errno ${errno}
  param vram ${vram}
  chain -a http://server/report.php##params
  :ok

Inspired-by: Christian Nilsson <nikize@gmail.com>
Originally-implemented-by: Christian Nilsson <nikize@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Michael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
src/arch/x86/core/vram_settings.c [new file with mode: 0644]
src/config/config.c
src/config/settings.h