migration: fix parameter validation on ram load
authorMichael S. Tsirkin <mst@redhat.com>
Wed, 12 Nov 2014 09:44:39 +0000 (11:44 +0200)
committerAmit Shah <amit.shah@redhat.com>
Tue, 18 Nov 2014 11:19:44 +0000 (16:49 +0530)
commit0be839a2701369f669532ea5884c15bead1c6e08
tree6b8079fc2a2c8de297f60858e1becffbc93e5bab
parentd6be29e3fb5659102ac0e48e295d177cb67e32c5
migration: fix parameter validation on ram load

During migration, the values read from migration stream during ram load
are not validated. Especially offset in host_from_stream_offset() and
also the length of the writes in the callers of said function.

To fix this, we need to make sure that the [offset, offset + length]
range fits into one of the allocated memory regions.

Validating addr < len should be sufficient since data seems to always be
managed in TARGET_PAGE_SIZE chunks.

Fixes: CVE-2014-7840

Note: follow-up patches add extra checks on each block->host access.

Signed-off-by: Michael S. Tsirkin <mst@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Dr. David Alan Gilbert <dgilbert@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Amit Shah <amit.shah@redhat.com>
arch_init.c