target/i386: floatx80: avoid compound literals in static initializers
authorLaszlo Ersek <lersek@redhat.com>
Fri, 24 Jul 2020 06:45:00 +0000 (07:45 +0100)
committerAlex Bennée <alex.bennee@linaro.org>
Mon, 27 Jul 2020 08:40:16 +0000 (09:40 +0100)
commit163b3d1af2552845a60967979aca8d78a6b1b088
tree9b52add5b85b1d931a4a0ff8844a0616724fb6cf
parentc83d628b7fba050e59ccf7bda050bc27af241b61
target/i386: floatx80: avoid compound literals in static initializers

Quoting ISO C99 6.7.8p4, "All the expressions in an initializer for an
object that has static storage duration shall be constant expressions or
string literals".

The compound literal produced by the make_floatx80() macro is not such a
constant expression, per 6.6p7-9. (An implementation may accept it,
according to 6.6p10, but is not required to.)

Therefore using "floatx80_zero" and make_floatx80() for initializing
"f2xm1_table" and "fpatan_table" is not portable. And gcc-4.8 in RHEL-7.6
actually chokes on them:

> target/i386/fpu_helper.c:871:5: error: initializer element is not constant
>      { make_floatx80(0xbfff, 0x8000000000000000ULL),
>      ^

We've had the make_floatx80_init() macro for this purpose since commit
3bf7e40ab914 ("softfloat: fix for C99", 2012-03-17), so let's use that
macro again.

Fixes: eca30647fc0 ("target/i386: reimplement f2xm1 using floatx80 operations")
Fixes: ff57bb7b632 ("target/i386: reimplement fpatan using floatx80 operations")
Signed-off-by: Laszlo Ersek <lersek@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Alex Bennée <alex.bennee@linaro.org>
Reviewed-by: Alex Bennée <alex.bennee@linaro.org>
Reviewed-by: Philippe Mathieu-Daudé <philmd@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Richard Henderson <richard.henderson@linaro.org>
Cc: Aurelien Jarno <aurelien@aurel32.net>
Cc: Eduardo Habkost <ehabkost@redhat.com>
Cc: Joseph Myers <joseph@codesourcery.com>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Maydell <peter.maydell@linaro.org>
Link: https://lists.gnu.org/archive/html/qemu-devel/2017-08/msg06566.html
Link: https://lists.gnu.org/archive/html/qemu-devel/2020-07/msg04714.html
Message-Id: <20200716144251.23004-1-lersek@redhat.com>
Message-Id: <20200724064509.331-8-alex.bennee@linaro.org>
include/fpu/softfloat.h
target/i386/fpu_helper.c