vga: check the validation of memory addr when draw text
authorlinzhecheng <linzhecheng@huawei.com>
Thu, 11 Jan 2018 13:27:24 +0000 (21:27 +0800)
committerGerd Hoffmann <kraxel@redhat.com>
Thu, 25 Jan 2018 09:18:39 +0000 (10:18 +0100)
commit191f59dc17396bb5a8da50f8c59b6e0a430711a4
tree3c58d8420a96ae8502c8781ed9c3a5e4413bc90a
parent834a336eb911db8a8ca00e760ee6a85faca19414
vga: check the validation of memory addr when draw text

Start a vm with qemu-kvm -enable-kvm -vnc :66 -smp 1 -m 1024 -hda
redhat_5.11.qcow2  -device pcnet -vga cirrus,
then use VNC client to connect to VM, and excute the code below in guest
OS will lead to qemu crash:

int main()
 {
    iopl(3);
    srand(time(NULL));
    int a,b;
    while(1){
a = rand()%0x100;
b = 0x3c0 + (rand()%0x20);
        outb(a,b);
    }
    return 0;
}

The above code is writing the registers of VGA randomly.
We can write VGA CRT controller registers index 0x0C or 0x0D
(which is the start address register) to modify the
the display memory address of the upper left pixel
or character of the screen. The address may be out of the
range of vga ram. So we should check the validation of memory address
when reading or writing it to avoid segfault.

Signed-off-by: linzhecheng <linzhecheng@huawei.com>
Message-id: 20180111132724.13744-1-linzhecheng@huawei.com
Fixes: CVE-2018-5683
Signed-off-by: Gerd Hoffmann <kraxel@redhat.com>
hw/display/vga.c