spapr: Cleanup machine naming conventions, and prepare for 2.2 release
authorDavid Gibson <david@gibson.dropbear.id.au>
Mon, 8 Sep 2014 05:30:31 +0000 (15:30 +1000)
committerAlexander Graf <agraf@suse.de>
Tue, 4 Nov 2014 22:26:11 +0000 (23:26 +0100)
commit4aee73623d0141c5d4ce4754fc054689fb92f0e5
tree398beb3b65f10bc7f29126cdce1a08947adf3032
parent0691e8ebce51e4e3bf0c76c41d8b534e3cde47ee
spapr: Cleanup machine naming conventions, and prepare for 2.2 release

As of qemu-2.1, spapr/pseries, has a set of versioned machine classes to
represent the machine type as it appeared to the guest in different qemu
versions.  This allows for safe migration of guests between current and
future qemu versions.

However, these are organized a bit differently from those for PC: on PC,
the default plain "pc" machine type is just an alias for the most recent
versioned machine type.  In sPAPR, it names the base machine class from
which the versioned types are derived.

The PC approach is preferable; it makes it clearer which explicit version
is the current one.  Additionally updating the "current" machine as the
base class makes it even more likely than otherwise to incorrectly alter
the versioned machines' behaviour when updating the current machine.

Therefore this patch changes sPAPR to the PC approach - the base class
becomes abstract, and plain "pseries" becomes an alias for the most
recent versioned machine class.  Since qemu-2.1 is now released, we also
create a new pseries-2.2 machine type, to incorporate changes during this
development cycle (for now it is identical to pseries-2.1).

Signed-off-by: David Gibson <david@gibson.dropbear.id.au>
Signed-off-by: Alexander Graf <agraf@suse.de>
hw/ppc/spapr.c