nbd: Fix large trim/zero requests
authorEric Blake <eblake@redhat.com>
Wed, 22 Jul 2020 21:22:31 +0000 (16:22 -0500)
committerEric Blake <eblake@redhat.com>
Tue, 28 Jul 2020 13:49:29 +0000 (08:49 -0500)
commit890cbccb089db9e646cc1baea3be9dc060e3917b
tree946a596b29711e8a9b62e3b87ff1117b925d3036
parent1b242c3b1ec7c6011901b4f3b4b0876e31746afb
nbd: Fix large trim/zero requests

Although qemu as NBD client limits requests to <2G, the NBD protocol
allows clients to send requests almost all the way up to 4G.  But
because our block layer is not yet 64-bit clean, we accidentally wrap
such requests into a negative size, and fail with EIO instead of
performing the intended operation.

The bug is visible in modern systems with something as simple as:

$ qemu-img create -f qcow2 /tmp/image.img 5G
$ sudo qemu-nbd --connect=/dev/nbd0 /tmp/image.img
$ sudo blkdiscard /dev/nbd0

or with user-space only:

$ truncate --size=3G file
$ qemu-nbd -f raw file
$ nbdsh -u nbd://localhost:10809 -c 'h.trim(3*1024*1024*1024,0)'

Although both blk_co_pdiscard and blk_pwrite_zeroes currently return 0
on success, this is also a good time to fix our code to a more robust
paradigm that treats all non-negative values as success.

Alas, our iotests do not currently make it easy to add external
dependencies on blkdiscard or nbdsh, so we have to rely on manual
testing for now.

This patch can be reverted when we later improve the overall block
layer to be 64-bit clean, but for now, a minimal fix was deemed less
risky prior to release.

CC: qemu-stable@nongnu.org
Fixes: 1f4d6d18ed
Fixes: 1c6c4bb7f0
Fixes: https://github.com/systemd/systemd/issues/16242
Signed-off-by: Eric Blake <eblake@redhat.com>
Message-Id: <20200722212231.535072-1-eblake@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Vladimir Sementsov-Ogievskiy <vsementsov@virtuozzo.com>
[eblake: rework success tests to use >=0]
nbd/server.c