blockdev: loosen restrictions on drive-backup source node
authorJohn Snow <jsnow@redhat.com>
Tue, 21 May 2019 21:00:53 +0000 (17:00 -0400)
committerMax Reitz <mreitz@redhat.com>
Tue, 28 May 2019 18:30:55 +0000 (20:30 +0200)
commita2d665c1bc3624a8375e2f9a7d569f7565cc1358
treebd46483bd78e87dce5630a6cc3831af407376897
parent6388903e7cc9b6528934a083e81f086322c24c86
blockdev: loosen restrictions on drive-backup source node

We mandate that the source node must be a root node; but there's no reason
I am aware of that it needs to be restricted to such. In some cases, we need
to make sure that there's a medium present, but in the general case we can
allow the backup job itself to do the graph checking.

This patch helps improve the error message when you try to backup from
the same node more than once, which is reflected in the change to test
056.

For backups with bitmaps, it will also show a better error message that
the bitmap is in use instead of giving you something cryptic like "need
a root node."

Fixes: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1707303
Signed-off-by: John Snow <jsnow@redhat.com>
Message-id: 20190521210053.8864-1-jsnow@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: Max Reitz <mreitz@redhat.com>
blockdev.c
tests/qemu-iotests/056