qcow2: Fix corruption on write_zeroes with MAY_UNMAP
authorMaxim Levitsky <mlevitsk@redhat.com>
Tue, 24 Nov 2020 09:28:15 +0000 (10:28 +0100)
committerKevin Wolf <kwolf@redhat.com>
Tue, 24 Nov 2020 10:29:41 +0000 (11:29 +0100)
commitc8bf9a9169db094aaed680cdba570758c0dc18b9
tree2cceb3f99fe22012a8b3ad51bdacbb6bc6203873
parent23895cbd82be95428e90168b12e925d0d3ca2f06
qcow2: Fix corruption on write_zeroes with MAY_UNMAP

Commit 205fa50750 ("qcow2: Add subcluster support to zero_in_l2_slice()")
introduced a subtle change to code in zero_in_l2_slice:

It swapped the order of

1. qcow2_cache_entry_mark_dirty(s->l2_table_cache, l2_slice);
2. set_l2_entry(s, l2_slice, l2_index + i, QCOW_OFLAG_ZERO);
3. qcow2_free_any_clusters(bs, old_offset, 1, QCOW2_DISCARD_REQUEST);

To

1. qcow2_cache_entry_mark_dirty(s->l2_table_cache, l2_slice);
2. qcow2_free_any_clusters(bs, old_offset, 1, QCOW2_DISCARD_REQUEST);
3. set_l2_entry(s, l2_slice, l2_index + i, QCOW_OFLAG_ZERO);

It seems harmless, however the call to qcow2_free_any_clusters can
trigger a cache flush which can mark the L2 table as clean, and
assuming that this was the last write to it, a stale version of it
will remain on the disk.

Now we have a valid L2 entry pointing to a freed cluster. Oops.

Fixes: 205fa50750 ("qcow2: Add subcluster support to zero_in_l2_slice()")
Signed-off-by: Maxim Levitsky <mlevitsk@redhat.com>
[ kwolf: Fixed to restore the correct original order from before
  205fa50750; added comments like in discard_in_l2_slice(). ]
Signed-off-by: Kevin Wolf <kwolf@redhat.com>
Message-Id: <20201124092815.39056-1-kwolf@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Alberto Garcia <berto@igalia.com>
Signed-off-by: Kevin Wolf <kwolf@redhat.com>
block/qcow2-cluster.c