docs/system: clarify deprecation schedule
authorStefan Hajnoczi <stefanha@redhat.com>
Tue, 15 Sep 2020 15:07:34 +0000 (16:07 +0100)
committerStefan Hajnoczi <stefanha@redhat.com>
Wed, 23 Sep 2020 12:42:02 +0000 (13:42 +0100)
commitef1f5b0a96c917802dbab8c3fee26c46d50e76b6
treeddcb6e2eb515a562adebfc2648f193c3855e2258
parent8080747748f143c71076e1fd9951ca40900da574
docs/system: clarify deprecation schedule

The sentence explaining the deprecation schedule is ambiguous. Make it
clear that a feature deprecated in the Nth release is guaranteed to
remain available in the N+1th release. Removal can occur in the N+2nd
release or later.

As an example of this in action, see commit
25956af3fe5dd0385ad8017bc768a6afe41e2a74 ("block: Finish deprecation of
'qemu-img convert -n -o'"). The feature was deprecated in QEMU 4.2.0. It
was present in the 5.0.0 release and removed in the 5.1.0 release.

Suggested-by: Daniel P. Berrangé <berrange@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Stefan Hajnoczi <stefanha@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Philippe Mathieu-Daudé <philmd@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Daniel P. Berrangé <berrange@redhat.com>
Message-Id: <20200915150734.711426-1-stefanha@redhat.com>
docs/system/deprecated.rst